Security Advisory for Contao

24. October 2023

The usd HeroLab analysts examined the Contao content management system while conducting their security analysis. It is an open source software that enables the creation of professional websites and scalable web applications.

While conducting the security analysis a cross-site scripting (XSS) vulnerability was identified. Attackers with a low-privileged role were able to use a modified HTTP request to create an article with a JavaScript payload of their choice, which was client-triggered on the frontend and backend. For example, such an attack could elevate a low-privileged account to an administrator account.

The vulnerability was reported to the vendor under the Responsible Disclosure Policy and subsequently fixed. Detailed information about the advisory can be found here.

About usd HeroLab Security Advisories

In order to protect businesses against hackers and criminals, we must ensure that our skills and knowledge are up to date at all times. Therefore, security research is just as important to our work as is building up a security community to promote an exchange of knowledge. After all, more security can only be achieved if many people take on the task.

We analyze attack scenarios, which are changing constantly, and publish a series of Security Advisories on current vulnerabilities and security issues – always in line with our Responsible Disclosure Policy.

Always in the name of our mission: “more security.”

Also interesting:

Security Advisory on WeKan

The pentest professionals at usd HeroLab examined the open source application WeKan during their pentests. This application offers users a solution for organising projects...

read more

Security Advisory on Gambio

The pentest professionals at usd HeroLab examined the online shop software Gambio during their pentests. The software offers merchants various functions that support the...

read more

Security Advisory zu Contao

24. Oktober 2023

Die Pentest Professionals des usd HeroLabs haben während der Durchführung ihrer Pentests das Content Management System Contao untersucht. Es handelt sich dabei um eine Open Source Software, die die Erstellung professioneller Webseiten und skalierbarer Webanwendungen ermöglicht.

Bei der Überprüfung wurde eine Cross-Site Scripting (XSS) Schwachstelle identifiziert. Angreifer mit einer niedrig-privilegierten Rolle konnten über eine geänderte HTTP-Anfrage, einen Artikel mit einem JavaScript-Payload ihrer Wahl erstellen, welcher im Frontend und im Backend clientseitig ausgelöst wurde. Solch einen Angriff ermöglicht zum Beispiel, ein niedrig privilegiertes Konto zu einem Administratorkonto aufzuwerten.

Die Schwachstelle wurde dem Hersteller im Rahmen der Responsible Disclosure Policy gemeldet und daraufhin behoben. Detaillierte Informationen zu dem Advisory finden Sie hier.

Über usd HeroLab Security Advisories

Um Unternehmen vor Hackern und Kriminellen zu schützen, müssen wir sicherstellen, dass unsere Fähigkeiten und Kenntnisse stets auf dem neuesten Stand sind. Deshalb ist die Sicherheitsforschung für unsere Arbeit ebenso wichtig wie der Aufbau einer Security Community zur Förderung des Wissensaustausches. Denn mehr Sicherheit kann nur erreicht werden, wenn viele sie zu ihrer Aufgabe machen.

Wir untersuchen die sich ständig im Wandel befindlichen Angriffsszenarien und veröffentlichen in diesem Zusammenhang eine Reihe von Security Advisories zu aktuellen Schwachstellen und Sicherheitsproblemen – stets im Einklang mit den Leitsätzen unserer Responsible Disclosure Policy.

Immer im Namen unserer Mission: „more security.“

Auch interessant:

Security Advisories zu Gibbon Edu

Die Pentest Professionals des usd HeroLabs haben während der Durchführung ihrer Pentests die Open-Source Bildungssoftware Gibbon Edu untersucht. Während der...

mehr lesen